The Project Rheum

Healthy with Rheumatoid Arthritis

Pick-me-up Anti-Inflammatory Tea

Leave a comment

IMG_8494This morning I wake up and find myself plagued with feelings of hopelessness and doubt. How did I get this illness? How bad will it become? Will I be able to cope with all the physical changes coming my way? I feel weighted down, heavy with questions that can’t be answered. Beside me, my husband Steve gets out of bed and opens our bedroom blinds before he disappears down the stairs for the kitchen. It’s his normal morning routine and for a moment I envy his easefulness.

The light from outside infuses our room and I can see our two resident barn swallows flying in the near distance, weaving over and under each other like a graceful choreographed dance. They’re forever hard at work, gathering material to build a nest under the eaves of our house. Soon there will be chicks with hungry mouths to feed, then lessons on how to fly.

We’re in the thick of spring here and heading toward summer fast. Everything outside that has reserved its growing energy over winter is lush and green and bursting with new growth.

When I sit up I can see our dog Lola chasing deer off the field. My gaze shifts inside to my bedside table where a card I bought myself years ago sits upright against some books.

“All that I can, I will,” it reads.

Words to live by.IMG_8546Anti-Inflammatory Tea
Serves One
1 cup freshly brewed Chai Rooibos tea
1 cup almond milk
¼ cup banana, chopped
½ tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp ground turmeric
1 small thumb of fresh (organic if possible) ginger, peeled and chopped

Combine all ingredients in a powerful blender until smooth. Pour into a pretty cup and drink while it’s still warm.IMG_8406 IMG_8394Health Benefits of:
Cinnamon: decreases inflammation, enhances circulation, helps to regulate blood sugar, eases gastrointestinal distress, provides powerful antimicrobial protection, is a concentrated source of calcium and manganese

Ginger: Helps alleviate nausea, decreases inflammation (especially that associated with arthritis), and is a concentrated source of heart-healthy magnesium, vitamin B6 and potassium

Turmeric: provides powerful anti-inflammatory protection, promotes joint health, promotes optimal liver function, rich in iron and manganese, protects against cancer, promotes heart health, may help prevent and even treat nerve cell and brain cell disorders like Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, and Multiple SclerosisIMG_8544In Health,

Zuzu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

